Thoughts after Python Bootcamp

A_Green_Tree_Python.jpg

So, I did that. Seven months of learning how to code from scratch. Starting this adventure I didn't know what Git is, left alone Python or JS. I barely even knew about HTML elements, mostly because I accidently displayed them in the browser.

What made me take the decision to start coding? Well, certainly not passion - at the time I had no idea what I am getting myself into. Did this change? Absolutely.

As an introvert to the core I was looking for a job with as little in-person interaction as possible. I have years of experience working with other people, can adjust to this environment perfectly and with no problem at all. However, working from the office was the absolute opposite from ideal for me. I thrive working from home, looking over my cat and vibing to my music.

Any professional reasons, you ask? Well... there was none, actually. However, I cannot be more grateful I decided to go for it. Along the journey I found a new passion and met amazingly inspiring people. Now I don't only have a new skill - I also have a passion to develop and perfect it as much as possible.

What made me change my mind? Well:

1. Structured form of teaching

This was something that completely sold me. I know it is probably not that hard for all the experts out there, but for a newbie like me being able to learn everything step by step, not jumping in between accidental topics was something absolutely priceless.

What always scares me the most is the amount of things I need to learn - if I don't take it step by step, focusing on one thing at a time, there is no chance I do it right.

This structure alone would made me decide on this form of learning, and is the reason I now understand the details in Python code.

2. Learning live from Python experts

Every topic I learned during my Bootcamp was guided by professionals working everyday with different companies, who shared their own tips and tricks and were able to explain everything from the practical side. This was so different from the theory or the documentation only, as I was getting answers as I went, allowing me to complete every single task at hand.

For me, meeting people from development industry who changed their jobs themselves was a huge inspiration! I could of course read stories on the internet, meeting them is completely different experience. The inspiration that accompanied me throughout this course is one of the main things influencing me to continue this journey.

3. Numerous workshops during the Bootcamp

The coding experience was something very time and energy consuming - still is, and I love it! During the Bootcamp I had the chance to solve a lot of problems I faced, consult my solutions with mentor or colleagues and find multiple different approaches on the internet. One of the most enriching experiences though were workshops I needed to do. These were meant to guide me to create a simple application, such as meeting room manager, chess or lotto simulator. These workshops were perfectly adjusted to my current coding level and came with a detailed introduction - this made them very challenging, but doable on my own and I am still proud of those.

4. Creating my own application

Another thing that was absolutely priceless for me was a guidance I received on my first individual project - the application full designed on my own. I was actually surprised how much I can do after those months of work! Being regularly monitored by my mentor allowed me to make sure I am going in the right direction while still learning a ton on my own. I know every single thing I'll make from now on will only be better and more advanced, hopefully allowing me one day to create a completely ready for market app :).

5. Programming in Python but... not only

Last but not least - I cannot underestimate things like HTML, CSS and JavaScript that were part of the Bootcamp. These allowed me to look comprehensively on every aspect of the application I create - not only form the backend, but also thinking about the frontend it needs to have one day as well. Working in Django and having even basic knowledge of HTML helps a ton and allows me to create much more than just using Python and Flask.

My experience with the Python Bootcamp was nothing short of amazing - there were a lot (and I mean it) of doubts, late nights and starting over. But this is just the learning process and I'm incredibly grateful for it. Now that I finished this experience and I'm working on test apps I see how much I improved thanks to the simple decision to just start typing.